Wednesday, May 16, 2012

UFC on Fuel 3 Results: The Korean Zombie submits Dustin Poirier in fourth round in "Fight of the Year" leader

By: Jamie Penick, MMATorch Editor-in-Chief

"The Korean Zombie" proved that his 2011 performances were no fluke on Tuesday, as he choked out Dustin Poirier in the fourth round of their main event bout at UFC on Fuel 3 to establish himself as a top contender in the UFC's featherweight division.

In what would become the early front-runner for 2012's Fight of the Year, Chan Sung Jung showcased an immensely improved overall game, and controlled much of the fight against the betting favorite in Poirier before scoring the finish in the fourth round. Jung kicked things off by proving himself to be the superior grappler, scoring a couple of really nice takedowns and doing damage on the ground in the first two rounds.

The second round was an especially thrilling frame. In one incredible sequence, Jung hurt Poirier on the feet, causing Poirier to drive in for a double leg takedown. Jung somersaulted through the takedown and wound up in mount. He ultimately scored some near submissions in the frame, but Poirier stayed safe enough to survive.

Jung slowed a bit in the third, allowing Poirier to try to mount a comeback. He landed several big striking exchanges, and started finding his range throughout the five minute frame. It appeared to be a turning of the tide, but Jung had other ideas heading into the championship rounds.

After cracking Poirier with a big punch that backed him up early in the fourth round, Jung delivered a flying knee that dropped Poirier to the ground. He then locked in the D'Arce choke and rolled through, with Poirier going out before he could tap.

With that finish, Jung now has a win by twister submission, a seven second knockout, and a FOTY worthy fourth round D'Arce choke in his last three fights. depending on how long he's willing to wait, he's very likely to face the winner of UFC 149's Jose Aldo vs. Erik Koch Featherweight Championship bout.


Kalib Starnes Don Barr Jon Jones Kiyoshi Tamura Mike Van Arsdale

No comments:

Post a Comment